Home > Philosophers' Carnival, Philosophy > The New Carnival

The New Carnival

October 14, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’ve unfortunately had to abstain from blogging for almost two months now, for what [I think] are some very good reasons. Not only did I recently relocate, I did so in order to pursue my MA in philosophy at the University of Houston. Between settling into the area and acclimating myself to the schedule of being a student again I have had little time for updates, but hopefully now they will be more frequent. Also, I know a promised a new layout and in the next month or two I will be working with a local web designer to  update the site!

Looks like I have missed a bit of a shakeup with regard to the Philosophers’ Carnival. As readers know, I have hosted two Carnivals in the past, with the last in January of 2012. Apparently a mistake on the part of a recent host resulted in a very low-quality Carnival that failed to feature some legitimate submissions, and instead highlighted some very bad posts. As a result of this, it seems Brian Leiter has ceased publicizing the Carnival. Perusing Leiter Reports did not turn up a concrete post indicating this, but I did notice the last Carnival Leiter officially linked to was the April 2nd Carnival hosted by David himself.

Richard Yettier Chappell has handed the reins over to Tristan Haze at Sprachlogik, who will now be in charge of coordinating the hosting of the Carnival. You can find Tristan’s post explaining the switch here which is where I gleaned most of this information. While Tristan notes that the reason Leiter stopped linking was a decline in quality, I am a bit puzzled by this given the strength of Carnivals #140, 141, and 142. With regard to the controversy, it does seem like an honest but unfortunate mistake on the part of the host, and he has left up the post to take ownership of it which I respect. If anything, this indicates that the Carnival may be in need of a better vetting procedure for future hosts in order to insure that the host can handle the volume of submissions, adequately judge what is spam or has no business being posted, but also who have enough time in the blogosphere to know where to look for quality posts if the submissions run a little dry.

I am glad to see the Carnival continuing, and Tristan makes some good points about its scope and future. I will toss in my two cents and say I think all members of the philosophy blogging community need to embrace and popularize the Carnival more than they have in the past if they expect it to garner a strong reputation for rigor. For my part, I will be linking to each Carnival when it goes up, and will continue to submit posts and host when possible. To that end…

Here is a link to the Philosophers’ Carnival #144, and you can submit posts here for Carnival #145, which will be hosted by Philosophical Pontifications!

 

**EDIT**

Tristan Haze pointed out that he has started an updated blogroll of active philosophy blogs, which can be found here. Thanks again, Tristan, for all of your hard work on the carnival already!

  1. October 14, 2012 at 8:28 PM

    Someone asked me to ask Leiter to link to #142. He replied, “I stopped linking to those while ago. Sorry.” I look forward to what could come of the Philosophers’ Carnival. It has been a great idea, but under appreciated I think. Perhaps this opportunity for a revamp will reignite excitement and readership.

  2. October 14, 2012 at 8:36 PM

    I think the Carnival is a great idea, but unfortunately interest in it fluctuates wildly. I hope it will stoke readership as well, and clarify the purpose of the Carnival in the process. I found the message mixed in that, on the one hand hosts should highlight lesser-known bloggers, but on the other hand only include the most respectable submissions. As you know, it is not often that these coincide. I’d like to see an updated blogroll associated with the Carnival so there is a consolidated place where well-known and relatively obscure philosophy blogs can be listed. That way hosts can find various posts in a pinch.

    For what it is worth, I thought your recent hosting was great! Really a fan of your new site layout (although on my Macbook Pro the site loads rather slowly). I also really enjoyed #141. Let’s agree to do our best to promote the Carnival, then!

  3. November 7, 2012 at 8:05 PM

    Hi Jared, Just saw this. Thanks for your interest. By the way, the previous organizer’s first name is Richard, not David. I definitely agree with your point about vetting hosts properly!

    Please email me (tristanhaze, gmail) – I address this both to Jared and to other philosophy bloggers reading this – if you would like to host an upcoming carnival.

  4. November 7, 2012 at 8:08 PM

    By the way:

    ‘I’d like to see an updated blogroll associated with the Carnival so there is a consolidated place where well-known and relatively obscure philosophy blogs can be listed.’

    I’ve started doing effectively that here: http://sites.google.com/site/tristanhaze/home/active-philosophy-blogs

    • November 17, 2012 at 11:45 AM

      Thank you for the additional information, Tristan! I’ve edited the initial post to reflect the updates.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

